Battle Fever J
Battle Fever J
JAPAN 1979 - 1980
Number of Episodes: 52
Air Dates: February 3, 1979 to January 26, 1980

This is the first series to go under the name of 'Super Sentai.' It is second co-production with Toei Marvel, following the success of Spider-Man (1978), a Tokusatsu-version of the popular comic book. Intially, the show was to be called 'Captain Japan,' a Japanese version of Marvel's Captain America.

General Kurama assembles four young agents who had been dispatched around the world for training. They are joined by FBI investigator Diane Martin, whose father was murdered by the secret society Egos. Egos' first order of business was to assiginate top members of the National Defense Ministry. The five agents don powered suits to become the Battle Fever team. Each member represents a country at the time. The Battle Fever team's valuable resource is the Battle Fever Robo. Egos tries to stop the construction of the Robo, but the monsters they send are defeated one by one by the Fever team. Egos then unleashes the 'younger brother' of the Buffalo Monster, a giant robot replica of its predecessor. The Robo fortunately was finished in time and the Fever team defeated the Buffalo Monster and its successors. Even when it lost the original Miss America and Battle Cossack, Battle Fever J never ceased to continu fighting. With the new members, the team defeats Hedder, now the Hedder Monster, and breaks into Egos' headquarters, where they are fed into the Egos Monster Making Machine so that they may be used as material for a Battle Fever Monster. The team destroys the machine and with the Lightning Light Sword Rocketter sword-throwing move, slayed the mysterious deity Satan Egos himself.